#19 Its okay to be….just okay

I feel good writing this post because there’s been a lot going on in my head recently (since moving from London to Scotland and in the new flat)… and I realise there is a link between it all!

Its funny the things you will Google when you put the kids down to nap, from the more ‘regular’ searches such as ‘who provides the cheapest Gas and Electricity?’ or ‘The best gluten free vanilla sponge cake recipe’….TO….the perhaps more abstract ‘what’s the difference between Hemp and Jute?’ or ‘who wrote the background score to the kids show you are subjected to watch round the clock?’…….well Google certainly delivers but no answer is really that conclusive…one search usually leads to another and then another.

google1

So we are constantly looking for answers to endless questions. But its ok, we are hungrier for knowledge and more experimental than ever before. And my current read is Michael Rosen’s ‘How to be your child’s (and your own) best teacher’ in which he expresses the importance of BROWSING the internet/libraries for kids and I’m sure its of therapeutic value to adults.

20150119_175201

I have been ‘browsing’ a lot since moving to the flat; how to fix window drafts, foods to offer a fussy toddler, how to use a bread-maker… what I’m trying to do is find the best way to do things within the shortest space of time.

I am by no means an expert cook or baker, I am of the ‘eat to live’ community and my husband is not much of a foodie either. He is however in the food & beverage field of work and therefore my best (and often worst critic). I don’t take criticism very well unfortunately because I have always, ALWAYS given my everything to what I attempt. Unfortunately I am not the most patient of people therefore the results can often leave a lot to be desired shall we say (ahem burnt/uncooked/lacking in key ingredients/too chilli even).

73704_498031976916479_79596687_n

HOWEVER…..

Once I let go of trying to be the best or brilliant at something I realised it started working for me. I read a number of recipes and design one that works for me, I use what materials are available to me, I keep doing what I enjoy whether I am ‘great’ at them or not…I am not an expert in anything but okay at A LOT of things! And that’s okay by me.

I think we should all try new things and mix it up but we shouldn’t be so hard on ourselves if we fall short of perfection or don’t get the compliments we think we deserve. Its okay. Just be satisfied in the knowing that YOU TRIED, you showed INITIATIVE, you were EXPERIMENTAL, you may have INVENTED something new, you worked out a way that suits YOU.

Before this post starts to look like my CV/resume I will stop there….but I would want to share with you something I ‘attempted’ today that turned out pretty okay 😉

SPICY CHAI….

20150207_204630

I miss my winter-morning journeys to work, especially for the chai lattes! But I have brought this home to me by mixing up a couple of recipes:

  • Take a saucepan
  • 3 cups water
  • 2 black tea bags
  • A few slices of ginger (without peeling)
  • 5 cardamom pods
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper balls
  • 5 cloves
  • 1 inch of cinnamon (I used Chinese cinnamon)
  • Lots of honey (or sugar to your taste)

Method:

  • Start warming up the water and then add your tea bags and all the spices.
  • Then stir in the honey.
  • Once boiled, turn the heat right down and steep for about 20mins.
  • I added hot milk to mine and it was ready to enjoy straight away.

(Makes about 2 cups)

Until next time, take care x

Leave a Reply

