#24 Journals & The Written Word

Since forever, stationery has been my most favourite thing to hoard. You can never have enough, in my opinion.

20130911_001905

From pencil tins at school, through to (more grown up stationary perhaps) post-it pads and lovely inky pens. Colouring pens, scrap-booking, pretty-shaped post-it notes, diaries, journals – These have always been my favourite collectibles, much to the dismay of poor DH.

Since recycling and upcycling is important too, I aim to reuse whatever I can and hold on to things if there’s a chance they can be incorporated into a crafty project.

…………………………..

With my children meeting new milestones (3yr old starting nursery this autumn and a 1yr old tot now toddling) my day and ‘me’ time has been considerably reshuffled. Not quite enough time for one thing or too much for another – welcome to parenting! But hey that’s ok, because I finally get to indulge in my journal making!

 20150919_102210ed 20150919_102233ed

At first I wasn’t sure what I would put in it if I made one, and then, a light bulb moment! I could log a poem I’ve come across and liked,  memorable quotes from books, musings, feelings and thoughts about things I am thankful for, things you tend to encounter all the time.

20151029_233135ed 20151029_233525ed

The odd 10mins here and there are enough to get started (no chance of completing this project in one sitting with kids so young and demanding). Any glueing takes a while to dry and you are essentially layering your paper to get the desired texture to the cover. This is worth doing properly!

20150919_102240ed

Pretty paper from craft magazines are perfect for using in the journal, you can design them any way you prefer. I used jute string, lace and wooden buttons to add quirky texture. I added pockets and envelopes for added mystery. This is a wonderful activity to do with the kids too, they can have a journal for their cards and stickers, themed and in colours they love.

I used paper with rough edging to give it a more vintage effect. A few sessions in, you are ready to start doodling away- Yipee!

20150919_102307ed 20150919_102253ed

I was quite impressed with these Distress Ink pads kit that a lot of crafters have been using to create a more weathered/vintage effect! They come in different shades and tones; I personally bought this set and the blending tool was purchased separately. Can’t wait to give these a whirl.

distress ink

(Image: Amazon.co.uk)

You-tube has loads of inspiring videos that will get you in the journaling mind-set; there are a couple that stood out to me and I have listed them below:

  1. How to Make 100% recycled Art Journal from Cereal Boxes:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ec04rVh0ndU

2. Vintage Journal Tutorial

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-MZR3fucuME

Love of the written word!

I read a lot! I love reading, real books, for too many reasons to mention at the end of a post (I will definitely have to dedicate a whole blog piece to books/reading). Like millions, I use the book-lover’s portal- Goodreads- as a place to explore and organise my books virtually, while following others’ reading endeavours. And of course, I can use my hand-made bookmarks too. Here’s some I made earlier 😉

20150930_093718ed

Online, I currently love reading material by…..

  1. Artparasites, based in Berlin.

‘Artparasites shares compelling artwork that alters the way we live, love, work, play, think and feel’

http://www.artparasites.com/

Also…

2. The Honest Musings (Facebook page)

‘Part poems, part anecdotes, part reality and part fiction. Everyday conversations of my head and probably of yours. Shamelessly inspired by Bukowski’

https://www.facebook.com/thehonestmusings/?fref=ts

Happy Crafting Everyone!

Sabeena x

Leave a Reply

